We Mustache You to Read – Teen Winter Reading Program

Mustache DisplayThis Teen Librarian Toolbox post inspired my first library display last year (see photo) and now it is inspiring my first ever teen winter reading program.

Our teens requested that we host a winter reading program this year, they also requested that we use BINGO cards (I made BINGO cards for summer reading and they loved them). So, I went with the theme “We Mustache You to Read” and made a simple, bookish BINGO card. Basically they check off each type of book they read to make a BINGO, completed cards get entered into a raffle. I’ll also make a recommended reading list, in case they need help finding titles.  I’m not sure what I’m going to give out as a prize yet. At a previous trivia event, the prize was a mustache tote and the teens loved that. I’ll probably get another one of those and stuff it with books and delightfully geeky things.Winter Reading BINGO

I wanted to keep the program passive, so we aren’t having any big activities at the library outside of our regular clubs. The winter weather in West Virginia is just too unpredictable to expect teens to make it to events. I’m just glad to know that they enjoy the programs I plan and are requesting more. Unfortunately, since my official position requires most of my attention, I can’t always give them the amount of programs they want.

Here is a PDF of the BINGO card. Feel free to swipe it for your own use.

Leave a Reply

