Blind Date with an eBook Follow-Up

bde22

Back in February, I posted about a Facebook promotion I was trying out – Blind Date with an eBook. I created images with three-word ebook description using Picmonkey, then posted the photos with an accompanying shortlink. This meant that our Facebook fans would have to actually click the link to find out what ebook was described, making it a Blind Date. I was inspired by all the Blind Date with a Book displays popping up in brick and mortar libraries. Now that the promotion is over, here are some insights:

  • An average of 30 people saw each post, that’s approximately 33% of our 91 Facebook fans. I think that Facebook’s recent changes had a lot to do with that.
  • 20 out of the 28 ebooks featured were checked out during the time of the promotion (February 1-28). A handful were checked out multiple times. I was pleasantly surprised by this figure considering the low number of people who actually saw the posts.
  • Almost all likes, shares, and comments on the Blind Date posts were by other librarians or library pages. This was disappointing to me. I had hoped to garner more attention from our actual, everyday users. However, I’m very glad that fellow librarians liked the idea. In fact, another West Virginia library adapted it for their own social media accounts.
  • Titles selected were a mix of popular ebooks that our patrons seemed to have missed and ebooks that I thought our patrons would enjoy based on what they were already checking out.

Despite the fact that this promotion didn’t quite meet my expectations, I will try it again next year. I think when we have a larger fan base, it will work better. I may expand it to other social media platforms. This could work really well on Pinterest and Twitter.

Image Credit: “eBook Reader” by goXunuReviews on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

