Spark a Reaction – 2014 Teen Summer Reading Program

TeenFBCoverPhoto

It’s hard to believe that Summer Reading is almost here (or already here for some of you). Teen programs are on hiatus for the month of June at my library because bridesmaid duties are taking over my life, but our Summer Reading Program will start up July 1st. This year I’m doing things a little differently. Instead of using BINGO cards and doing random drawings each week, I’ve created a book log. Teens will keep track of all the titles they read in July (including fan fiction), whoever reads the most books wins the grand prize. If they read five books, they will earn a prize and an invitation to the after-hours awards party.

I’ve also got lots of activities planned: two LEGO robotics classes, crafts, weekly movies, and a video-making club. My book club teens have been begging to make a movie, so I’m making their dreams come true. I have some video-editing experience, but we all be learning together (which is fun).

Here are some of the handouts I’ve created for SRP packets this year:

Calendar of Events

Reading Log

Recommended Reading List

I would love to hear what other librarians have planned for this summer. Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

