Cozy Crafts for Winter Months

winter-wallpaper-tumblr-4-desktop-wallpaper.png

Looking for some simple crafts for your winter teen programs? Here’s two cozy and easy fleece projects to consider:

DIY Pet Blankets 

My pup, Fancy, enjoying her DIY pet blanket.

I used this craft as the first official program that I hosted at the main branch of the library system I work for, teens could make a blanket for their own pet or one to donate our local humane society. Unfortunately, only two teens participated – so the humane society didn’t get the donations I had hoped for. However, the teens enjoyed themselves and I highly recommend this craft. I used this tutorial from Dog Milk for instructions: http://bit.ly/1MU7JYA.

Pro tip: Use actual fabric scissors. All I had available were standard office scissors and it was super-difficult to cut the fleece with those.

No-Sew Fleece Hat

Since I have tons of fleece leftover from the pet blanket program, I decided to reuse it in January to make no-sew fleece hats. These instructions from My Fabric Obsession are very easy to follow: http://bit.ly/1MUbbCx. It took me about 15 minutes to make the example below.

fleecehatcollage

Who wore it best?

 

 

Leave a Reply

