How to Start a Teen Anime Club (When You Know Nothing About Anime)

I recently presented at the West Virginia Library Association’s annual Spring Fling Conference. My session covered the basics of starting a teen anime club. A little over a year ago, my teens asked me to create one for them. I know nothing about anime, so I was intimidated. It turned out to be one of my most successful recurring programs! I figured there were other librarians out there in the same boat, so I would share what I learned.

Here are the slides from my session:

Click here to download the handout.

2 Comments

    • Our library’s policy dictates that we can’t show anything rated above PG-13 or TV-14, so that takes care of some issues. I try to preview everything before I show it. If some of the content seems questionable, I won’t show it. Sometimes things do slip through, but it provides an opportunity for discussion.

Leave a Reply

